What is ESC ESH?

What is ESC ESH?

What is ESC ESH?

Comparison of American and European Society Definitions and Management of Hypertension. ACC = American College of Cardiology; AHA = American Heart Association; BP = blood pressure; ESC = European Society of Cardiology; ESH = European Society of Hypertension.

What is the latest hypertension classification?

New BP categories are: 1) normal (<120 systolic and <80 mm Hg diastolic), 2) elevated (120–129 systolic and <80 mm Hg diastolic), 3) stage 1 hypertension (130–139 systolic or 80–89 mm Hg diastolic) and stage 2 hypertension (≥140 systolic or ≥90 mm Hg diastolic).

What are the new hypertension guidelines?

Blood pressure categories in the new guideline are:

  • Normal: Less than 120/80 mm Hg;
  • Elevated: Top number (systolic) between 120-129 and bottom number (diastolic) less than 80;
  • Stage 1: Systolic between 130-139 or diastolic between 80-89;
  • Stage 2: Systolic at least 140 or diastolic at least 90 mm Hg;

What is new and what has changed in the 2018 ESC Esh arterial hypertension guidelines?

The new ESC guidelines have lowered the treatment target to a BP of 130/80 mm Hg. The definition of hypertension is set at systolic BP ≥140 mm Hg and/or diastolic BP ≥90 mm Hg.

What causes ESH?

Lifestyle factors (eg, physical activity level, diet, smoking and alcohol consumption) and past or current symptoms of coronary disease, heart failure, cerebrovascular or peripheral vascular disease (PVD), renal disease, diabetes mellitus, gout, dyslipidemia, asthma or other significant illnesses and related medication …

What is HMOD hypertension?

Hypertension-mediated organ damage (HMOD) is defined as the structural or functional alteration of the arterial vasculature and/or the organs it supplies that is caused by elevated BP. End organs include the brain, the heart, the kidneys, central and peripheral arteries, and the eyes.