What is the National Qualifications Framework South Africa?

What is the National Qualifications Framework South Africa?

What is the National Qualifications Framework South Africa?

Description: The National Qualifications Framework (NQF) is the system that records the credits assigned to each level of learning achievement in a formal way to ensure that the skills and knowledge that have been learnt are recognised throughout the country.

What is a qualification according to SAQA?

QUALIFICATION. The formal recognition of the achievement of the required number and range of credits and other requirements at specific levels of the NQF. Determined by the relevant bodies registered by SAQA.

Is NQF level 7 a degree?

The NQF consist of 10 levels divided into three bands; Levels 1 to 4 equate to high school grades 9 to 12 or vocational training, 5 to 7 are college diplomas and technical qualifications, 7 to 10 are university degrees.

What is the difference between SAQA and NQF?

The South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) is the oversight body of the NQF and the custodian of its values and quality character.

What is the difference between NQF and SAQA?

SAQA must advise the Minister of Higher Education and Training on NQF matters in terms of the NQF Act. SAQA must also perform its functions subject to the NQF Act 67 of 2008 and oversee the implementation of the NQF and ensure the achievement of its objectives. In terms of the NQF Act no.

Does SAQA certificate expire?

Registered. So there is no constraint valid time to SAQA and IITPSA assessment document (Critical Skill assesment).

Can you do a Masters with a level 7 degree?

One cannot enter a masters or PhD qualification without first achieving an honours degree. Similarly, when a student achieves a Level 5 qualification they can then progress to a qualification at level 6, 7 or 8.

Is N6 a diploma?

The N4 – N6 Certificate Programmes are post-matric National Certificates leading towards obtaining a National N-Diploma. Each certificate is a qualification on its own and is offered over a period of 3 months.

What is the main purpose of saqa?

SAQA Functions The primary function of SAQA (also called ‘the Authority’) is to oversee the development and implementation of the NQF (also called ‘the Framework’). Advise the Minister on the registration of qualifications and standards. Be responsible for the control of the finances of the Authority.