Where is Barnett Newman Stations of the Cross?

Where is Barnett Newman Stations of the Cross?

Where is Barnett Newman Stations of the Cross?

the National Gallery of Art
In a large white room, high atop the tower of the National Gallery of Art in Washington D.C., sits a solemn grouping of fourteen paintings—Barnett Newman’s The Stations of the Cross / Lema Sabachthani (1958-1966).

What are the 7 Stations of the Cross?

The series of stations is as follows: (1) Jesus is condemned to death, (2) he is made to bear his cross, (3) he falls the first time, (4) he meets his mother, (5) Simon of Cyrene is made to bear the cross, (6) Veronica wipes Jesus’ face, (7) he falls the second time, (8) the women of Jerusalem weep over Jesus, (9) he …

What are the Stations of the Cross based on?

The Stations of the Cross or the Way of the Cross, also known as the Way of Sorrows or the Via Crucis, refers to a series of images depicting Jesus Christ on the day of his crucifixion and accompanying prayers.

What are the Stations of the Cross 14?

The traditional 14 Stations of the Cross are: (1) Jesus is condemned to death, (2) Jesus accepts the cross, (3) Jesus falls the first time, (4) Jesus meets His Mother, (5) Simon of Cyrene carries the cross, (6) Veronica wipes the face of Jesus, (7) Jesus falls the second time, (8) Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem, (9 …

Who made the 15 Stations of the Cross?

But Stewart’s Good Friday gathering has focused not on the usual representations of those events — on the judgment of Jesus, or his walk to Calvary, or his crucifixion, death and entombment — but on a collection of 15 abstract modernist paintings by Barnett Newman, made between 1958 and 1966, known as “Stations of the …

What is the fifteenth station of the cross?

: The Resurrection
Anthony Visco, The Fifteenth Station: The Resurrection They are typically installed in a church where parishioners can move from station to station, reciting specific prayers and contemplating the suffering and resurrection of Christ. Traditionally there were fourteen stations.

What does station 10 of the Cross mean?

The 10th Station of the Cross is where Jesus is stripped of his garments on the Calvary. Beneath the silver dome to the right is the chapel that commemorates where Jesus was stripped of his garments, which were distributed among those who placed him on the cross.

Do Protestants do the Stations of the Cross?

For centuries, Episcopal (Anglican) churches have also observed these Catholic stations of the cross, and more recently Lutherans, Presbyterians, and other Protestant churches do.

Who invented Stations of the Cross?

In the end it was Leonard of Port Maurice or Porto Maurizio (Italy) (1676–1751), a Franciscan of the Riformella, who established what we know as the 14 Stations of the Cross. During his long life as missionary, Saint Leonard erected more than 570 Stations of the Cross.

What is the 13th Station of the Cross?

Between the previous Stations of the Cross is a statue of the Virgin Mary, Our Lady of Sorrows, and above this is an arch that says “Stabat Mater” (“the mother stood”).