What do you have to do to homeschool your child in Tennessee?
The parent will be required to complete an Intent to Home School form and provide evidence of a high school diploma or GED. Student attendance (at least 4 hours per day, 180 days per year) must be reported to the local school district at the end of the school year.
How many hours a day is required for homeschooling in TN?
four hours per day
Tennessee Homeschool Requirements Submit attendance records to the Director of Schools at the end of each school year. Provide instruction for at least four hours per day for 180 days per year. Teach the suggested subjects of reading/language arts, math, science, and social studies.
Is Tennessee a homeschool friendly state?
Tennessee Homeschool Law/State Code – In Tennessee, parents have the option to educate their children at home, an option known as homeschooling or home education. Parents in Tennessee may choose to home school their own children in grades K – 12.
Is homeschool free in Tennessee?
To find out about the legal requirements for homeschooling in Tennessee, Discovery K12 recommends visiting the Tennessee Department of Education website. Discovery K12 is an online platform and curriculum for independent homeschoolers. The curriculum is free for pre-k to twelfth grade, and includes all major subjects.
Is unschooling legal in Tennessee?
Unschooling is legal in all 50 states and some countries, including Canada.
How do homeschoolers get a driver’s permit in Tennessee?
Pass a vision screening and knowledge exam. Attend high school or be homeschooled. Receive signed permission from a parent or legal guardian. Provide proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful permanent residency.
Can I get funding for homeschooling?
“Do you get paid for homeschooling your child?” There is no payment fund or facility for parents who choose to home educate their child. Home education is a choice made by parents (or legal guardians) and is self-funded.