What does vitrinite reflectance measure?

What does vitrinite reflectance measure?

What does vitrinite reflectance measure?

Vitrinite reflectance (Rv max%, Ro%) is the percentage of light reflected from the surface of polished vitrinite. It is a standard measurement used to classify organic rocks, and standard values are associated with various ranks of coal (Table 1.1. 2).

How is vitrinite reflectance used as an indicator of maturity of source rocks?

The key attraction of vitrinite reflectance in this context is its sensitivity to temperature ranges that largely correspond to those of hydrocarbon generation (i.e. 60 to 120 °C). This means that, with a suitable calibration, vitrinite reflectance can be used as an indicator of maturity in hydrocarbon source rocks.

What is coal rank?

Coal rank is the measure of the degree of organic metamorphism (coalification) of a coal, ranging from low-rank peat to high-rank meta-anthracite.

What is source rock in oil and gas?

Petroleum source rock is defined as the fine-grained sediment with sufficient amount of organic matter, which can generate and release enough hydrocarbons to form a commercial accumulation of oil or gas [1]. Source rocks are commonly shales and lime mudstones, which contain significant amount of organic matter [2].

What is coal Maceral?

On the microscopic level, coal is made up of organic particles called macerals. Macerals are the altered remains and byproducts of the original plant material from which the coal-forming peat originated. Macerals are to coal as sediment grains and cements are to sedimentary rocks.

What is maceral analysis?

The maceral analysis is a micro-petrographic determination method. The investigation of peat, as well as brown coal and lignites, is carried out according to microscopic respectively visual characterized basic components, the macerals.

What do you mean by kerogen?

kerogen, complex waxy mixture of hydrocarbon compounds that is the primary organic component of oil shale. Kerogen consists mainly of paraffin hydrocarbons, though the solid mixture also incorporates nitrogen and sulfur. Kerogen is insoluble in water and in organic solvents such as benzene or alcohol.

What are 4 types of coal?

Coal is classified into four main types, or ranks: anthracite, bituminous, subbituminous, and lignite. The ranking depends on the types and amounts of carbon the coal contains and on the amount of heat energy the coal can produce.