When was the UK National Curriculum last updated?

When was the UK National Curriculum last updated?

When was the UK National Curriculum last updated?

The majority of this national curriculum was introduced in September 2014, with English and maths coming into force for all year groups from September 2016. The exception is the science curriculum which came into force for year 10 pupils in September 2016, and applies to year 11 pupils from September 2017.

Is RE in the primary National Curriculum?

Religious Education and the National Curriculum Schools are required to teach RE, but it isn’t part of the National Curriculum; this means that, although they provide guidance on what to teach and the aims of learning about RE, these are non-statutory.

Is RE mandatory?

The provision of religious education is compulsory in all state-funded schools, but it is not compulsory for any children to take the subject. The subject consists of the study of different religions, religious leaders, and other religious and moral themes.

Is RE compulsory at GCSE?

RE is a compulsory GCSE subject.

When did the National Curriculum change?

1988 Education Reform Act The first statutory National Curriculum was introduced by the Education Reform Act 1988 by Kenneth Baker. The Programmes of Study were drafted and published in 1988 and 1989, with the first teaching of some elements of the new curriculum beginning in September 1989.

What does the National Curriculum say about RE?

RE is an important curriculum subject. It is important in its own right and also makes a unique contribution to the spiritual, moral, social and cultural development of pupils and supports wider community cohesion. The Government is keen to ensure all pupils receive high-quality RE.

Is RE compulsory KS1?

Religious education (RE) in primary schools is not part of the National Curriculum, but it is compulsory for all (maintained) primary schools to teach KS1 religious education and KS2 religious education.

Why is re important for EYFS?

With RE activities for early years, children will be able to form positive attitudes towards other’s views, Children’s Personal, Social, and Emotional Development is greatly enhanced when they’re learning how to ‘walk in other’s shoes’.

How has the new national curriculum been developed?

The new national curriculum that we published yesterday has been developed with due regard to the views of subject experts and teachers and to the findings of international best practice comparisons.

When does the new school curriculum come into force?

The new curriculum covers primary school pupils, aged five to 11, and secondary schools pupils up to the age of 14. A new curriculum for 15- and 16-year-olds will come into force from September 2015.

What are the main subjects in the new curriculum?

The new curriculum also retains the main subject areas – English, maths, sciences, history, geography, art, modern foreign languages, et cetera.