What was the Dutch States General?

What was the Dutch States General?

What was the Dutch States General?

The States General of the Netherlands (Dutch: Staten-Generaal [ˌstaː. tə(n). ɣeː. nəˈraːl] ( listen)) is the supreme bicameral legislature of the Netherlands consisting of the Senate (Eerste Kamer) and the House of Representatives (Tweede Kamer).

What is the Dutch parliament called?

The House of Representatives (Dutch: Tweede Kamer der Staten-Generaal, pronounced [ˈtʋeːdə ˈkaːmər dɛr ˈstaːtə(ŋ) ˌɣeːnəˈraːl] ( listen); commonly referred to as the Tweede Kamer, literally Second Chamber of the States General) is the lower house of the bicameral parliament of the Netherlands, the States General, the …

Where is the seat of the Dutch government?

The Hague has been the seat of government of the Netherlands since 1588. The Binnenhof houses the States General of the Netherlands.

Who decides who sits in the upper house of the Netherlands parliament?

Electoral system The 75 senators are elected every four years by the members of the States-Provincial of the country’s twelve provinces and (since 2019) by electoral colleges elected in the Caribbean Netherlands. The seats are distributed in one nationwide constituency using party-list proportional representation.

Was the Dutch Republic Catholic or Protestant?

The Netherlands included the “Seven Provinces” of the Dutch Republic, which were Protestant, but also a Roman Catholic area.

What was Holland called in the 17th century?

Dutch Republic
Dutch Republic, formally Republic of the United Netherlands, Dutch Republiek der Verenigde Nederlanden, (1588–1795), state whose area comprised approximately that of the present Kingdom of the Netherlands and which achieved a position of world power in the 17th century.

Who is prime minister of Holland?

Mark RutteNetherlands / Prime minister

Is the Netherlands a democracy?

The politics of the Netherlands take place within the framework of a parliamentary representative democracy, a constitutional monarchy, and a decentralised unitary state. The Netherlands is described as a consociational state.