Who is Balbir Singh Chauhan?

Who is Balbir Singh Chauhan?

Who is Balbir Singh Chauhan?

Balbir Singh Chauhan (born 2 July 1949) is the chairperson of Cauvery water dispute tribunal and the current Chairman of the 21st Law Commission of India. He was a judge of the Supreme Court of India from May 2009 to July 2014. He previously served as the Chief Justice of Orissa High Court from July 2008 to May 2009.

How many judges are there in Odisha High Court?

The court has a sanctioned judge strength of 27….Orissa High Court.

High Court of Orissa
Judge term length Mandatory retirement at 62 years of age
Number of positions 27 (20 Permanent + 7 Additional)
Website www.orissahighcourt.nic.in
Chief Justice

Who is the first high court judge of Odisha?

On July 26, 1948 Orissa High Court with Shri Bira Kishore Ray as the Chief Justice and Shri B.

What religion are the High Court judges?

The justice whom Jackson will replace, Stephen Breyer, is Jewish, as is Elena Kagan, who remains on the court. The remaining six justices — John Roberts, Clarence Thomas, Samuel Alito, Sonia Sotomayor, Brett Kavanaugh and Amy Coney Barrett — are Catholic.

Who is Gatikrushna Mishra?

B. Gati Krushna Misra was the seventh Chief Justice of Orissa High Court, from 1 May 1969 to 30 October 1975. On 1 May 1969, he was elevated to the post of Chief Justice of Orissa High Court and worked as such for more than six years.

Who was the first Odia to become Supreme Court?

Ranganath Misra
Ranganath Misra was born on 25 November 1926 in Banapur, Odisha into an Odia Brahmin family.

Who is Ranganath Mishra?

Justice Ranganath Misra enrolled as an advocate at the Orissa High Court on September 18th 1950. He practised as a lawyer until 1969 and was then appointed as a Permanent Judge of the Orissa High Court. He was elevated as an acting Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court on November 6th 1980.

Who is Raghunath Mishra?

He served as Chief Justice from September 1990 to November 1992. Former Chief Justice Ranganath Misra was also a Rajya Sabha member but he was elected on a Congress party ticket.

Who is the first Indian woman Chief Justice of High Court?

Leila Seth
Leila Seth (20 October 1930 – 5 May 2017) was an Indian judge who served as the first woman judge on the Delhi High Court and became the first woman to become Chief Justice of a state High Court, Himachal Pradesh High Court, on 5 August 1991….Leila Seth.

Hon’ble Justice Leila Seth
Occupation Judge

How many judges are there in Orissa High Court?

The court has a sanctioned judge strength of 27. Justice S. Muralidhar is the Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court since 4 January 2021.

What is the history of Orissa High Court?

The Government of India agreed to create a new High Court, and for that purpose the Government of India issued the Orissa High Court Order, 1948, under the Section 229 (1) of the Government of India Act, 1935, on 30 April 1948. Finally, on 26 July 1948, Orissa High Court was formally inaugurated. The seat of the court is Cuttack.

Who is the current Chief Justice of Odisha High Court?

The Chief Justice. Justice K.S. Jhaveri of the Rajasthan High Court has been appointed as the Chief Justice of the Odisha High Court subsequent to Justice Saran’s elevation to the Supreme Court of India.

Who was the third judge of Israel in the Bible?

3. Shamgar was the third Judge of Israel. The Bible however, never stated how long he ruled as a Judge (Judges 3:31). 4. Deborah (the Judge) was the 4th of the 15 judges who ruled over the land of Israel during ancient times, before the Israelites had kings.