Who Has 5 Navy Crosses?

Who Has 5 Navy Crosses?

Who Has 5 Navy Crosses?

Rear Admiral Roy Milton Davenport (June 18, 1909 – December 24, 1987) was an officer in the United States Navy. He is the first sailor to be awarded five Navy Crosses, the United States military’s second highest decoration for valor.

Who is the only Marine to receive 5 Navy Crosses?

General Lewis “Chesty” Burwell Puller
Lieutenant General Lewis “Chesty” Burwell Puller, colorful veteran of the Korean fighting, four World War II campaigns and expeditionary service in China, Nicaragua and Haiti, was one of the most decorated Marines in the Corps, and the only Leatherneck ever to win the Navy Cross five times for heroism and gallantry in …

What do they award the Navy Cross for?

Today, the Navy Cross is presented to those who distinguish themselves through extraordinary heroism while engaged in action against an enemy of the United States. Their actions must take place in a situation of great danger, or at great personal risk to themselves.

Is the Navy Cross the highest honor?

The Navy Cross is the second highest military decoration that may be awarded to a member of the United States Navy, U.S. Marine Corps, (and to members of the Coast Guard when operating under the authority of the Department of the Navy).

Who is the most decorated sailor in the U.S. Navy?

Willy Williams
In the history of the U.S. Navy only seven men have earned all of the “Big Three” valor awards: Medal of Honor, Navy Cross and Silver Star Medal. Six were World War II officers, including one aviator and four submarine commanders.

How many Navy Crosses are there?

The Navy Cross has been awarded in more than six thousand instances. At least two of those awards have been done in secret according to some sources.

Who is the most famous Navy sailor?

The Best List Of The 10 Best Sailors In Navy History

  • Larry Flynt.
  • David Farragut.
  • The crew of the USS Dallas.
  • Lawrence Ferlinghetti.
  • Uriah Levy.
  • Rudy Boesch, the SEAL from season no.
  • All the SEALs who helped kill bin Laden and never sought a book deal.

How do you get awarded the Navy Cross?

Criteria. The Navy Cross may be awarded to any member of the U.S. Armed Forces while serving with the Navy, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard (in time of war only) who distinguishes himself or herself in action by extraordinary heroism not justifying an award of the Medal of Honor.